Southcoast Health Employees Honored with President’s Award for Excellence

Beginning Tuesday, January 2, portraits of the 2023 President’s Award for Excellence honorees will be displayed in all three Southcoast Health hospitals, Charlton Memorial, St. Luke’s and Tobey, as well as in the system’s Fairhaven Business Center.

This award is presented annually to recognize exemplary individuals across the system that are nominated by their peers for demonstrating what it means to be More than medicine.  In 2023, 33 employees were celebrated for their extraordinary work to support Southcoast Health’s patients, visitors and staff.

“We are so fortunate to have outstanding providers, nurses, and staff who are committed to providing exceptional care to our community,” said Ray Kruger, MD, FACS, President and CEO of Southcoast Health System. “Each of our 2023 President’s Award honorees have gone above and beyond to make Southcoast Health an exceptional place to work and receive care. Collaborating with various departments across the system, these individuals hold themselves to the highest standard of excellence to advance the care and services we provide across the region.”

Each year, Southcoast Health employees nominate more than a hundred colleagues across the system for this recognition. Honorees are chosen based on how well they meet the selection criteria of excellent performance and demonstration of Southcoast Health’s values.

“Joining Southcoast Health earlier this fall, I am so impressed by the remarkable culture of collaboration and respect across our many locations,” said David McCready, President and CEO of Southcoast Hospitals Group. “This positive culture is something to be extremely proud of, because in healthcare, it truly takes each member of our team to deliver an exceptional patient experience. We all have a unique role to play in patient care and the only way we can be successful is by working together. These awards exemplify this spirit of collaboration and acknowledges the dedication of each honoree to caring for our community.”

2023 President’s Award for Excellence Honorees:

  • Donna Franco, Environmental Services, Housekeeper
  • Maria Da Costa, Manager, Interpreter Services
  • Karen Dockery, HR Program & Analytics Manager
  • Lisa Bechard, RN MS, Executive Director, Clinical Systems, Chief Nursing Information Officer
  • Kevin Paulson, Manager of Investigation and Training, Department of Public Safety
  • Rachel Tolan, RRT, Respiratory Therapist
  • Samba Cande, Personal Computer Technician
  • Michael Johns, BS, R.T.(R), Clinical Educator of Diagnostic Radiology
  • Susan Wood, Medical Laboratory Technician
  • Donna Kincman, Manager of Volunteer Services and Visitor Management
  • Kathleen Shubitowski, MSN, RN, NPD-BC, CEN, Clinical Expert Nurse, Professional Development
  • Jessica Inwood, MD, Medical Weight Management Physician

The Fairhaven Radiology Team

  • Lynn Thompson – Manager 
  • Pablo Corral – Team Leader 
  • Anthony Rezendes 
  • Richard Geada  
  • Natalie Gomes 
  • Helga Pacheco  
  • Mary Jane (MJ Dion) 
  • Gregory Newcomb  
  • Michael Magalhaes 
  • Michelle Garell 
  • Kristine Tavares 

To learn more about the 2023 President’s Awards, please visit: Southcoast Health 2023 President’s Award Honorees.