Southcoast Health staff members honored during National Nurses Week

Southcoast Health Staff Members

NEW BEDFORD, Mass. — Southcoast Health announced today the winners of its annual Spirit of Nursing Awards that are presented to staff members during National Nurses Week in May.

The distinctions include scholarships for nurses, recognitions for members of the interprofessional team and nurse leaders, and the Spirit of Nursing award, which goes to the nurse with the most votes from his/her peers. All winners were nominated by fellow employees in an open selection process.Receiving Spirit of Nursing Awards


“As a nurse, you have the opportunity to help heal the mind, body and spirit of our patients. Patients may forget your name but they will not forget your comforting words, advocacy and passion for the care you provided them,” said Tim Eixenberger, Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer at Southcoast Health.

The list of awards and winners are as follows:

The Dr. Michael Schwartz Nursing Scholarship for Charlton Memorial Hospital


Jennifer Bloom

Caitlin Hogan

Erin Costa

Kimberly Campbell

Kiana Jeronimo

The Dr. Daniel Schlitzer Nursing Scholarship for St. Luke’s Hospital


Magen Aguiar

Ruth Milam

The Dr. Stephen Heacox Nursing Scholarship for Tobey Hospital

Traci L. Cregan

Medical Staff Partnership Award


Dr. Erick Hersh

Dr. Mark Mahoney

Dr. Paymon Kayhani

Southcoast members receiving awards

Health Unit Coordinator Award

 Jan Oliver

Michelle Da Costa

Linda Kelleher

Certified Nursing Assistant Award

 Timothy Alexander

Lucelina Andrade

Paula Jones

Support Service Award

 Dax Costa

Maria Porto

Aida Sargo

Surgical Tech Award

 Kara Lawless

Nursing Leadership Award

 Evelyn Vasconcellos

Beth Rocha

Rose Brisson

Spirit of Nursing Award


Erin Costa

Teresa DeMedeiros

Nancy LoBue